Blueberry Sorbet

When I saw this recipe for strawberry sorbet on The Hungry Australian, I was amazed. Ingredients? Only four. And three out of four of them are foods we normally have in the house. Three out of four of them are fruits. YES! Fruits! So you’re probably guessing that the last ingredient is boatloads of sugar (hmm auto correct did me right here.. boatloads of sugar sounds way better than buttloads of sugar). Nope! Simple jam! Something that you probably have sitting in the fridge (especially if you’re like me – ‘that jam looks amazing! I’ll buy it to have on my toast at breakfast!’ Except I eat breakfast at work [see Mango Lassi post], and it’s not toast. And any time I eat toast it’s because I have a craving for either peanut butter or vegemite. But I digress..)! And you could probably even leave the jam out. Now if you are still not convinced to try this, let’s just say that if you take away the freezing time, it will take you about five minutes to make, from start to finish. And when I say ‘you’, I mean ‘your food processor/stick blender’ (unless you don’t have a food processor or stick blender, in which case I actually do mean ‘you’).

I decided to make mine blueberry flavoured, seeing as blueberries are cheap at the moment and I’d been dying to use some Blueberry Jam we bought when we visited Eden Gate Blueberry Farm when we were in Denmark over the Christmas/New Year holidays (by the way, this place has the most amazing blueberry ice cream!). Feel free to experiment with your favourite fruit/jam/honey!

Recipe adapted from The Hungry Australian

Ingredients:
(a.k.a. The (un)Usual Suspects)

+ 2 punnets blueberries
+ 1-2 tablespoons blueberry jam to taste (optional!)
+ 1 frozen banana (chopped into pieced. I always have this in the freezer for my smoothies. PRO TIP: Peel and slice the banana before you freeze it!)
+ 1 small avocado

Method

Place all ingredients into the jug of your stick blender. I found that it was easier to blend with the frozen banana at the bottom of the jug and the more smooshy (i.e. blendable) ingredients at the top.

Blend away till you receive a nice smooth consistency and everything is all mixed up. Have a taste and add more jam if you feel like it’s needed. Pour into an air-tight container and stick in the freezer. Make sure you put the lid on first (I don’t know why, but I felt the need to mention it). I love the bright vibrant colour from the blueberries!

Every half an hour for two hours, take the container out of the freezer and give everything a good stir. I must admit that I did this once then went out shopping and didn’t come back for a couple of hours. Don’t worry, no sorbet was harmed in the making of this post! It may have been a little tougher to stir, that’s all.

There you go. Your healthy and delicious frozen treat is ready. Take it out of the freezer for 10-20 minutes to soften up a bit before eating.

How does it taste, I hear you ask? Everyone I’ve served it to tasted it differently! For me and I think most people, it tastes like a blueberry-banana ice cream/sorbet hybrid. My mother in law thought she tasted pineapple. The hub-ster thought it tasted great, and he hates the smell and texture of banana (though not the taste, funnily enough). Don’t believe me? Try it yourself!

Can’t resist the opportunity to share some pics of my ‘photo shoot’. Dexter, bless his soul is really an amazing dog. I put the sorbet on the ground outside, and he didn’t even try to get a taste!

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Sorbet

  1. Great post! I’m glad you were inspired by my strawberry sorbet post – I in turn got the idea from 84thand3rd.com’s vegan chocolate ice cream post.

    It is an amazing ice cream substitute isn’t it? I couldn’t believe how good it tasted. And I’m a happy convert – I have frozen ice creams in my freezer waiting to be turned into a new batch right now 😉

Leave a Reply

